2010 Philippine Elections: A Summary

President/ Vice President NoyBi.

It seems we have a clear winner for President, and an almost clear winner for Vice President.

The Noy Aquino-Jejomar Binay tandem so far wins the race (unless Mar catches up in the next few hours from the remaining municipalities). Unofficial results, of course. And still a partial count… but the numbers are quite clear.

Villar, Gibo, Gordon and de los Reyes have already conceded defeat.

Now… I did not vote for either of the 2 winners.

But I love my country.

And so, for her sake, I will embrace this new administration with open arms and give them all my support and loyalty. I, like many Filipinos, genuinely hope for the best.

I want to be a good citizen. Aside from paying my taxes religiously, and helping my husband month on month fix his rigorous taxes too… aside from exercising my right to suffrage, I will be a good citizen by giving this new administration a chance and simply stop… complaining and just letting them do their jobs.

President Elect Noy, please take care of this country and do what you have to do to start finding solutions to our country’s problems. For now, this is all the message I have for you.

I am a proud voter. Along with almost 50M other Filipinos.

Never in the history of my voting life have I ever felt so much pride for the indelibe ink on my finger. And never had the turnout of the voting public been higher than it was on May 10. More than 50M registered voters… at a 75% turnout. That means around 40M voters, more than half of the Filipino population.

And the 75% doesn’t include the votes that did not go through the PCOS machines yet.

All this, in spite of most of us having to brave the smoldering and torturous heat and humidity, lining up for hours just to get our votes in. It’s truly amazing.

Yesterday, a passing thought entered my head.

For those who could’ve voted, but chose not to… and especially for those who were simply too lazy, apathetic or cynical to cast their votes… I have no kind words to say to them.

Human nature leads all of us to spend more time complaining about what the government is doing (or not doing) for its constituencies. But frankly, those who have the least right to complain are those who can’t even go out of their way to do what little they can for their country. They complain about the ineptitude of the administration when they themselves were indifferent enough to have done nothing, when they had the chance to be heard.

Like I always say… kung sinadya mong hindi bumoto, wala ka ng karapatang magreklamo. (If you deliberately chose not to vote for whatever reason, you have no more right to complain.)

Democracy Truly At Work?

Hope has sprung forth on the 10th of May. Maybe it’s also thanks to the automated elections… but from what we see, these elections have been smooth-sailing and peaceful.

Election returns were fast, quick and clean. They seemed untampered with, and thus, legit.

Presidentials and Vice Presidentials conceded defeat even before results were finalized (well, most of them). And all of them truly did give way and make way for the new President Elect, pledging their support and allegiance as soon as they knew that results were unquestioned.

It gave me goosebumps when all those who conceded plainly, simply and humbly said that “the people have chosen, and what the people have chosen, I will support” (not in those words).

Have we truly started on our journey towards true democracy?

What Happens After?

Well, I’m quite excited to see what happens next. But also perhaps, somewhat afraid.

I keep my fingers crossed that when the results are truly final, the number 2s (Erap for Pres/ Mar or Binay for VP) will peacefully concede and just let the results be.

I hope and pray that the ongoing conflicts and violence in Mindanao will start coming to a peaceful resolution. It’s a long way to go yet, but I continue to fervently hope that a resolution happens within my lifetime.

I am a bit anxious about PGMA as a whole. I worry a bit if there’s any validity to her plans of installing herself as Speaker of the House (since she’s already been proclaimed this morning in Pampanga) to help her supposed climb as the Prime Minister. I hope it’s not true. We don’t need this right now. In the midst of a more hopeful future, we need a united country all headed towards a common, peaceful goal.

On the side, I worry about her too, and the charges she will have to answer the day her Presidential term expires. I still think some the accusations against her are overrated and are an overreaction arising from fear and insecurity. And I think her biggest downfall was her relations and the people she surrounds herself with.

I’m hopeful too about Noy. Still apprehensive to some degree, but hopeful too. I hope he’s truly ready to take on the role of the most powerful person in the country. Because with it comes 6 long ,painful years of public scrutiny. Many see him now as the Messiah. The one who will change Philippine politics and turn it all around. The one who can solve all our problems. But no one can do that overnight. And alone. It takes an entire citizenry to enact changes. And it takes a long, long time to right the wrongs done through decades of a warped and corrupt political system. And with a body of Senators who are still the same senators of decades… the old traditional politicians acting as the chief legislators of our country… I wonder how much change can we really expect.

Only time will tell.

Meanwhile, I just hope that we as a Filipino citizen, are also ready and willing to embrace a promising era that speaks of change and reformation. And I hope we all do our part in whatever way big or small, to turning this country around.

Leave a Reply

