Tears for Fears in Manila!

While my giddy female classmates would scream and swoon for Robi da Rosa or Ricky Martin at the height of the band Menudo‘s popularity some time ago in the 80s, I…. I rocked to the tunes of Ronald Orzabal and Curt Smith, singing “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” at the top of my lungs.

While schoolgirls got reeled in to the boy-ish good looks of the band who started all boy bands, I angsty-ly sniffled away a few tears to “Memories Fade”, “Start of the Breakdown” and “The Working Hour” (don’t ask me why I cried to this song, I don’t quite know myself).

And… while my female counterparts would memorize the dance steps of “Heavenly Angels”…. I bobbed my head to the unique percussions of “Mad World”; while pretending to understand the meaning of the song “Pale Shelter”.

You know what I’m talking about, dontcha?

I am a big fan. This duo took center stage in my life when I was still a confused, trying-hard-to-fit-in adolescent who already apparently already showed hints of senseless rebellion.

And as an adult, I still take the lyrics of “Advice for the Young at Heart” to heart. “Woman in Chains” is a regular in all my favorite playlists. I still feel a slight shiver when the opening bars of “Everybody Loves a Happy Ending” starts.

Tears for Fears. *shiver*

If you’re as big a fan as I am, then you’d have known long ago — they’re coming to Manila! May 2nd, Araneta Coliseum!

We’ve got our tickets ready and waiting. This is gonna so rule my world.

If you’re as big a fan as I am, see you there!

—-

P.S. If you want to find out about where to get tickets, just click on the photo.

Leave a Reply

