Dollhouse

Since my husband introduced me to the wonderful worlds created by Joss Whedon through his novel creations Buffy, the Vampire Slayer; Angel, the demon with a soul; and the crew of Firefly, a free-wheeling ship that visits many worlds and galaxies in one mission or another – I’ve been an avid fan of the Whedonverse.

When Dollhouse first came into my knowledge, I’ve been eagerly anticipating watching the show. It hit pirated DVD stores in Manila several months ago when there were still just a few episodes. Hubby and I waited til there were at least more than 12 episodes… after all, knowing my addictive personality, I can’t abide getting a one-episode taste of a show I love and not feel like I’ve been deprived of something terrific.

So two weekends ago, we finally watched our first few episodes.

We’ve heard many conflicting reviews about the show. For the most part, reviews were mostly so-so. It was okay to most, fantastic for some, but there was a general populace who didn’t like it.

I loved it, and I love it!

It’s a gem of Science Fiction. To imagine a world where it’s entirely possible to wipe out a person’s true personality and replace it with a temporary one that enables that person to be anything we want him to be.… true genius!

That in itself is a strong enough motive for me to keep watching the show (I’m a closet geek at heart).

But then if you factor in the cast of the show, with Eliza Dushku playing the often disturbing role of Echo; Olivia Williams as the stiff upper-lipped Englishwoman who runs the Dollhouse; and Fran Kranz, an homage, I suspect, to the endearingly annoying character of Andrew in the last 2 seasons of Buffy – then there’s more than enough to keep my eyed wide open even in the wee hours of the morning. Which is a big thing for a sleepyhead like me.

And then of course there’s the evocative, charming and engaging screen writing and directing of Whedon’s regular crew of production staff. It was one of the things I loved most about Buffy and Angel. And now, one of the things I love most about Dollhouse.

Not to mention the fact that even if it’s Science Fiction, it’s placed at a moment in time much like our own. A world of science; a world of progress; of materialism and consumerism; of greed, corruption and secrecy. It’s a world of terrorists, assassins, serial killers and secret agents. If you think about it, the only difference between real life today and this show, is this new technology. Who knows how many years or decades from now when this won’t be a work of fiction anymore?

So if you’re in for some unusual but gripping science fiction drama, sit back and relax with an episode or two of Dollhouse. Grab a doll of yours along the way.

2 Responses to Dollhouse

  1. Pirate says:

    Dollhouse is truly an amazing show, but like Whedon’s previous success of Firefly, even though the fans are there and all Whedonites love it, Fox has given it the death time slot on Friday nights. Again as a result we are seeing a repeat of Firefly, Fox has pulled the plug on another work of genius and the series will cease to exist after season 2 😦

  2. Pingback: TV Shows: Renewed or Cancelled? « Loves Stories

Leave a Reply

